<![CDATA[Kettle Moraine Preservation & Restoration - News from JD]]>Fri, 30 Sep 2022 21:21:48 -0700Weebly<![CDATA[Clu Gulager (1928-2022)]]>Sun, 07 Aug 2022 07:00:00 GMThttp://kmvintage.net/news-from-jd/clu-gulager-1928-2022]]><![CDATA[Santa Ana on Line 1...]]>Thu, 04 Aug 2022 07:00:00 GMThttp://kmvintage.net/news-from-jd/santa-ana-on-line-1
The medal Eagle DGF #005 won two weeks ago is now hanging proudly deep in Santa Ana, within the office that Dan kept, and still lays claim to, though Kathy Weida has rights to it whenever she wishes.

The fire never goes out. The need to go faster next time out glows brightly within me. New tires will go on the Eaglet, as will some performance upgrades, and a lighter spacer between the seat and the steering wheel.

]]>
<![CDATA[Eagle #7228: The Commander!]]>Sat, 30 Jul 2022 07:00:00 GMThttp://kmvintage.net/news-from-jd/eagle-7228-the-commander
A car sponsored by a motorhome company shouldn't look or handle so great. But it is an Eagle after all.

[@philschroeder22 Photo]

]]>
<![CDATA[Team Effort]]>Sat, 30 Jul 2022 07:00:00 GMThttp://kmvintage.net/news-from-jd/team-effort
The week of the 2022 WeatherTech International Challenge was unlike any other I've ever had. Usually its just packing the trailer and getting the Eagle DGF streamliner ready for battle.

Designing, blasting, transporting, detailing, decaling and boxing AAR awards(machine work by Advanced Speed Componets); laying out and having our sign painter get a very special bottle of bubbly ready to present to AAR, getting the DGF Eagle ready for battle, two 7200 Eagles ready for flight as well as getting two then three static Eagles there was... a lot. Also biffing it on the Eagle BMX bike on loading day didn't help!

Our crew at UEMSI/HTV helped out in a big way with designing and boxing up awards and taking on tasks that usually fall my way, as they all know what AAR Eagles mean to our family. And our company is like a family, so it was only perfect to see many of them there at the track that weekend taking in the wonders that somehow we are so privileged to be associated with.

Just one part of a total team effort behind the scenes. My thank you list for everyone who helped #7228 come to life again will be coming soon...

- JD

]]>
<![CDATA[Chris Cord (1940-2022)]]>Fri, 29 Jul 2022 07:00:00 GMThttp://kmvintage.net/news-from-jd/chris-cord-1940-2022]]><![CDATA[Thank You...]]>Sun, 24 Jul 2022 07:00:00 GMThttp://kmvintage.net/news-from-jd/thank-you1139506
Three weeks ago, a box flew in from AAR and the Gurney family.

A heartfelt note was enclosed, as was a DGF press kit, original photos of my DGF, photos of the Sidehack and Dan's 1977 Jorgensen Steel AAR jacket. A time capsule if there ever was one.

Its taken me this long to process what this gift has meant to me, though I'll never be able to put it into proper words. For its much like the opportunity we had getting the Eagle DGF in 2009 and the Sidehack that found its way to us in 2021- just an unbelievable honor and something I cannot fathom has actually happened.

Thank you endlessly, and I'll keep the DGF flying.

]]>
<![CDATA[Eagle #7225: Speed and Style]]>Sat, 23 Jul 2022 07:00:00 GMThttp://kmvintage.net/news-from-jd/eagle-7225-perfectly-captured
'The last development job left unfinished,' as Mark Donohue called this Eagle in his biography, The Unfair Advantage.
We're still developing it, and it never stops.
All the while its a stunning machine on all levels, and a delight to drive.
[@tylerjensenphotos]

]]>
<![CDATA[More Alex Londe Photos]]>Sat, 23 Jul 2022 07:00:00 GMThttp://kmvintage.net/news-from-jd/more-alex-londe-photos
]]>
<![CDATA[Bill Nesius Photos]]>Sat, 23 Jul 2022 07:00:00 GMThttp://kmvintage.net/news-from-jd/bill-nesius-photo
Always an honor, always fast thanks to Paul Jay. Always great to be shot by Bill as well!
]]>
<![CDATA[Mike Allison (1944-2022)]]>Fri, 22 Jul 2022 07:00:00 GMThttp://kmvintage.net/news-from-jd/mike-allison-1944-2022
Somehow I missed the announcement on ApexSpeed in May, but Mike Allison passed away. A great guy, who ran a single Trans Am race in the 1960s, wound up racing at Le Mans, managing Skip Barber, running a NASCAR team and somehow found his way into the Formula Ford ranks in the end.

A wonderful man. He will be missed.

]]>